RSS

Why Fasting and Prayer is Important, Part 9 (The Prayer Motivator Devotional #329)

18 Jun

Our prayer motivator verse from the Word of God today is II Kings 20:1-5 which reads: “In those days was Hezekiah sick unto death. And the prophet Isaiah the son of Amoz came to him, and said unto him, Thus saith the Lord, Set thine house in order; for thou shalt die, and not live. Then he turned his face to the wall, and prayed unto the Lord, saying, I beseech thee, O Lord, remember now how I have walked before thee in truth and with a perfect heart, and have done that which is good in thy sight. And Hezekiah wept sore. And it came to pass, afore Isaiah was gone out into the middle court, that the word of the Lord came to him, saying, Turn again, and tell Hezekiah the captain of my people, Thus saith the Lord, the God of David thy father, I have heard thy prayer, I have seen thy tears: behold, I will heal thee: on the third day thou shalt go up unto the house of the Lord.”

Allow me to share with you some important points regarding this verse from Matthew Henry’s Commentary:

His prayer hereupon: He prayed unto the Lord, Is any sick? Let him be prayed for, let him be prayed with, and let him pray. Hezekiah had found, as recorded in the foregoing chapter, that it was not in vain to wait upon God, but that the prayers of faith bring in answers of peace; therefore will he call upon God as long as he lives. Happy experiences of the prevalency of prayer are engagements and encouragements to continue instant in prayer. He had now received the sentence of death within himself, and, if it was reversible, it must be reversed by prayer. When God purposes mercy he will, for this, be enquired of. We have not if we ask not, or ask amiss. If the sentence was irreversible, yet prayer is one of the best preparations for death, because by it we fetch in strength and grace from God to enable us to finish well.

We will discuss this passage further in the next broadcast.

My personal encouragement today is this: a third reason why we faint in prayer is because of the onslaught of the devil. Let me share this testimony with you. When I first got saved, I spent a lot of time studying my Bible and was very excited about that. I was excited about going soul-winning and seeing people saved. But for some reason I did not spend much quality time in prayer as I should have. I don’t know why to this day. I prayed a little bit in the mornings and a little bit at nights and that was it. But then one day, someone gave me a set of books by E. M. Bounds. E. M. Bounds was a praying man. He had tapped into the power one could have through prayer. He spent most of his ministry writing about prayer, teaching about prayer and praying himself. I call him the “prince of prayer.” God convicted me of my prayer life through this set of books. I determined in my heart and mind that I was going to spend more time in prayer. And do you know that as I began to pray more in the mornings and afternoons, in the late mornings and late evenings, and, of course, at nights, and as I began to pray more and more throughout the day, instead of things immediately getting better, things immediately got worse. I couldn’t understand why, back then, but I understand it now. You see, the devil did not want me to pray. He was discouraging me from praying. He was trying to make me faint in prayer. But God gave me the grace to continue in prayer and God, of course, delivered and blessed and answered my prayers.

Our prayer motivator quote today is from David Larsen. He said: “Strange it is that any discussion of preaching should take place outside the context of believing prayer. We have not prepared until we have prayed… We cannot represent God if we have not stood before God. It is more important for me therefore to teach a student to pray than to preach.”

Our prayer motivator devotional today is part 9 of our series titled “WHY FASTING AND PRAYER IS IMPORTANT” from Dr. John R. Rice.

Fasting is very properly an expression of mourning. When people are overwhelmed with sorrow, they often do not eat. They have no desire for food; they could not enjoy it. Sometimes when people are overwhelmed with grief, the body will not digest food. Nature itself teaches that fasting is the proper accompaniment and expression of mourning.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on June 18, 2012 in Prayer Motivator Devotionals

 

Leave a Reply

 
