RSS

The Limitless Possibilities of Prayer, Part 3 (The Prayer Motivator Devotional #345)

11 Jul

Our prayer motivator verse from the Word of God today is Psalm 55:1 which reads: “Give ear to my prayer, O God; and hide not thyself from my supplication.”

Allow me to share with you some important points regarding this verse from Matthew Henry’s Commentary:

Prayer is a salve for every sore and a relief to the spirit under every burden: Give ear to my prayer, O God! He does not set down the petitions he offered up to God in his distress, but begs that God would hear the prayers which, at every period, his heart lifted up to God, and grant an answer of peace to them: Attend to me, hear me. Saul would not hear his petitions; his other enemies regarded not his pleas; but, “Lord, be thou pleased to hearken to me. Hide not thyself from my supplication, either as one unconcerned and not regarding it, nor seeming to take any notice of it, or as one displeased, angry at me, and therefore at my prayer.” If we, in our prayers, sincerely lay open ourselves, our case, our hearts, to God, we have reason to hope that he will not hide himself, his favours, his comforts, from us.

My personal encouragement today is this: No matter how long it takes to pray, no matter how difficult it is to pray, praying to God is the most important things you can do in your day. It should be the #1 priority above everything else you have to do.

Our prayer motivator quote today is from The Kneeling Christian. He said: “Do we realize that there is nothing the devil dreads so much as prayer? His great concern is to keep us from praying. He loves to see us “up to our eyes” in work – provided we do not pray. He does not fear because we are eager and earnest Bible students – provided we are little in prayer.”

Our prayer motivator devotional today is part 3 of a new series titled “THE LIMITLESS POSSIBILITIES OF PRAYER” from Dr. John R. Rice.

We ought to ask big things of God! Many sins are mentioned in connection with prayer. People are warned not to pray to be seen of men, not to ask for something to consume it upon their lusts. We are warned of how unforgiveness, covetousness, disobedience, unbelief and wrong home life hinder prayer. But of all the sins mentioned regarding prayer, not once does the Scripture hint that any man ever asked too much of God!

My six daughters sometimes would gather around me and tell me how they needed new shoes, money for music lessons and for many other things. Sometimes I was compelled to say, “Go easy! I am not made of money. We will just have to get what we can afford and do without the rest.” But I never read in God’s Word where He ever told anybody, “Go easy! I don’t have very much. I have already strained Myself by giving to others. I cannot give as much as you ask.”

One of the greatest sins is that we do not ask for enough. We do not take what God is willing to give. We do not give God an opportunity to prove His love and power. God forgive us our little, stingy, unbelieving prayer!

+ Plus, listen to CeCe Winans “Anybody Wanna Pray?”

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on July 11, 2012 in Prayer Motivator Devotionals

 

Leave a Reply

 
