RSS

Tips on Ending the Three Day Esther Fast (Fasting Edition #133)

28 Sep

Here are a few tips to follow as you approach the end of the Esther Fast. These tips come from Chabad.org, a site that focuses on Jewish living:

1. Be sure not to eat food too quickly at the post-fast meal. Begin the break-fast meal with a drink of milk or juice: this puts sugar into the bloodstream and occupies space in the stomach, discouraging you from eating too rapidly.

2. Begin with eating a simple food, such as a piece of honey cake or crackers. It is advisable to wait some time before sitting down for a full meal in order to give your body a chance to begin digesting foods again. I imagine most people are willing to run the risk of a stomach-ache by eating without delay, but it is still a good idea to keep in mind, even if you only postpone your meal by a few minutes.

Our fasting quote of encouragement today is from Matthew Henry. He said: “If the solemnities of our fasting, though frequent, long, and severe, do not serve to put an edge upon devout affections, to quicken prayer, to increase Godly sorrow, and to alter the temper of our minds, and the course of our lives, for the better, they do not at all answer the intention, and God will not accept them as performed to Him.”

Our fasting devotional today is titled “FIVE STEPS TO A SUCCESSFUL DANIEL FAST” (PART 21) from Susan Gregory, author of the bestselling book “The Daniel Fast”.

As I progressed with my study plan, each day I learned what the Bible had to say about prayer. I learned of some mistakes I was making in the way I was praying, and I started forming new habits. As I studied the verses in the Bible, I tried to imagine the scene with me in it. I read the footnotes in my Bible concerning each verse, and I looked up the Hebrew and Greek meanings of some of the words. I learned about the various kinds of prayer and how to match the type of prayer with the need. I talked to God about what I was learning, and I started to pray using what I was learning, and I started to pray using my new knowledge and understanding. I could feel my faith building as I learned more about the awesome nature of God when I read books, prayed, meditated, and utilized Bible reference tools.

This study launched me into a new and greater understanding of God, our relationship to Him, and our position in the world as children of the Most High King. These morning times were rich and rewarding and lifted me to a new level in my faith.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on September 28, 2012 in Fasting Edition

 

Leave a Reply

 
