RSS

Hindrances to Prayer, Part 50 (The Prayer Motivator Devotional #461)

22 Feb

Our prayer motivator verse for today is 2 Chronicles 7:14 which reads: “If my people, which are called by my name, shall humble themselves, and pray, and seek my face, and turn from their wicked ways; then will I hear from heaven, and will forgive their sin, and will heal their land.”

Allow me to share with you some important points regarding this verse from Matthew Henry’s Commentary:

God says, “There will I make myself known, and there will I be called upon.’’ He promised to answer the prayers of his people that should at any time be made in that place. National judgments are here supposed, famine, and pestilence, and perhaps war, for by the locusts devouring the land meant enemies as greedy as locusts, and laying all waste. National repentance, prayer, and reformation, are required. God expects that his people who are called by his name, if they have dishonoured his name by their iniquity, should honour it by accepting the punishment of their iniquity. They must be humble themselves under his hand, must pray for the removal of the judgment, must seek the face and favour of God; and yet all this will not do unless they turn from their wicked ways, and return to the God from whom they have revolted. National mercy is then promised, that God will forgive their sin, which brought the judgment upon them, and then heal their land, redress all their grievances. Pardoning mercy makes ways for healing mercy.

My personal encouragement to you today is this: There are three reasons we faint in prayer: (1) doubt; (2) delay; and (3) the devil. The devil tries to plant the seeds of doubt in our minds about this matter of prayer. He tries to cause doubt in our minds as to whether or not God is even hearing our prayer. He tries to plant doubt in our mind as to whether or not you are even worthy of praying. He tries to plant little doubts in our minds to keep us from praying and sometimes, unfortunately, he succeeds, and we don’t pray as we ought to pray. When the devil comes to you and tries to plant doubt in your mind about prayer, reject it, and pray anyway.

Our prayer motivator quote today is from E.M. Bounds. He said: “There is power through prayer. For many Christians, prayer is nothing special, just something we’re supposed to do – go to church, tithe, read the Bible, pray. But prayer should be so much more than an item on our “to do” lists.”

Our prayer motivator devotional today is part 50 of our series titled “HINDRANCES TO PRAYER” from Dr. John R. Rice.

Any Unconfessed, Unlamented, Unrepented Sin, Grieves God and Hinders the Prayers of His Children

I have given you some sample cases where particular sins are mentioned in God’s Word as hindering our prayers. But I cannot mention every detail. God’s Spirit must do that for you. But let us find a general rule which you can apply to your own heart and life and find what grieves God.

In Psalm 66:18 are these solemn words, “If I regard iniquity in my heart, the Lord will not hear me.”

I want you to notice what God did NOT say. God did not say that if I have sinned, He will not hear me. No, no! Thank God, He did not say that; for if He had then God could never hear a human being pray. For all of us have sinned. He did not even say that if at this moment there is any sin in the life, He would not hear us. For I John 1:8 teaches us plainly that all of us have (present tense) sin in our lives all the time. “If we say that we have no sin, we deceive ourselves, and the truth is not in us.” The constant presence of human frailty, of bodily illness, the encroachments of age and infirmity, the limitations to our prayer and soul winning, all testify that we have sin, even now, and that we will have until we are translated when Jesus comes, or until we die. If Paul needed to say, “When I would do good, evil is present with me” (Rom. 7:21), so do the rest of us need to say it. I cannot come to God and ask anything of Him on the basis that I am sinless and perfect and that there is not in my heart, unknown to me, unseen to my neighbors, a single thing that is less than His best, a single thing that is not as pure as an angel or as Christ Himself. No, no! I am a sinner. But I can still get my prayers answered.

+ Plus, listen to CeCe Winans singing “Say a Prayer”

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 22, 2013 in Prayer Motivator Devotionals

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
