RSS

Pray Always and Everywhere, Part 10 (TPMD Bus 2 – #571)

08 Sep
[audio https://www.buzzsprout.com/3196/202900-pray-always-and-everywhere-part-10-tpmd-bus-2-571.mp3]

TODAY’S POEM: “Today Thy Mercy Calls Me” by Oswald Allen

Our prayer motivator passage from the Word of God today is II Samuel 7:18-24 which reads:

“Then went king David in, and sat before the Lord, and he said, Who am I, O Lord God? and what is my house, that thou hast brought me hitherto? And this was yet a small thing in thy sight, O Lord God; but thou hast spoken also of thy servant’s house for a great while to come. And is this the manner of man, O Lord God? And what can David say more unto thee? for thou, Lord God, knowest thy servant. For thy word’s sake, and according to thine own heart, hast thou done all these great things, to make thy servant know them. Wherefore thou art great, O Lord God: for there is none like thee, neither is there any God beside thee, according to all that we have heard with our ears. And what one nation in the earth is like thy people, even like Israel, whom God went to redeem for a people to himself, and to make him a name, and to do for you great things and terrible, for thy land, before thy people, which thou redeemedst to thee from Egypt, from the nations and their gods? For thou hast confirmed to thyself thy people Israel to be a people unto thee for ever: and thou, Lord, art become their God.”

Our prayer motivator quote today is from E.M. Bounds. He said: “Our praying needs to be pressed and pursued with an energy that never tires, a persistency which will not be denied, and a courage which never fails.”

My personal encouragement for you today is this: Here are three more benefits that I have personally received from prayer to God, and that I know you can receive as well. (1) Prayer to God can cause your ministry to flourish beyond your wildest imaginations. (2) Prayer to God will help you to be a better witness for the Lord. And (3) Prayer to God will help you have good relationships with other people.

Our prayer motivator devotional today is titled “PRAY ALWAYS AND EVERYWHERE” part 10 from E.M. Bounds.

Stonewall Jackson was a man of prayer. He said: “I have so fixed the habit in my mind that I never raise a glass of water to my lips without asking God’s blessing, never seal a letter without putting a word of prayer under the seal, never take a letter from the post without a brief sending of my thoughts heavenward, never change my classes in the lecture-room without a—minute’s petition for the cadets who go out and for those who come in.”

James Gilmour, the pioneer missionary to Mongolia, was a man of prayer. He had a habit in his writing of never using a blotter. He made a rule when he got to the bottom of any page to wait until the ink dried and spend the time in prayer.

In this way their whole being was saturated with the Divine, and they became the reflection of the heavenly fragrance and glory. Walking with God down the avenues of prayer we acquire something of His likeness, and unconsciously we become witnesses to others of His beauty and His grace. Professor James, in his famous work, “Varieties of Religious Experience,” tells of a man of forty-nine who said: “God is more real to me than any thought or thing or person. I feel His presence positively, and the more as I live in closer harmony with His laws as written in my body and mind. I feel Him in the sunshine or rain; and all mingled with a delicious restfulness most nearly describes my feelings. I talk to Him as to a companion in prayer and praise, and our communion is delightful. He answers me again and again, often in words so clearly spoken that it seems my outer ear must have carried the tone, but generally in strong mental impressions. Usually a text of Scripture, unfolding some new view of Him and His love for me, and care for my safety … That He is mine and I am His never leaves me; it is an abiding joy. Without it life would be a blank, a desert, a shoreless, trackless waste.”

+ Plus, listen to the Brooklyn Tabernacle Choir singing “I Can Go to God in Prayer”

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on September 8, 2014 in Prayer Motivator Devotionals

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
