RSS

Praying With Purpose, Part 11 (TPMD Bus 2 – #605)

14 Jan

TODAY’S POEM: “We Pray Thee, Heavenly Father” by Vincent S. S. Coles

Our prayer motivator passage from the Word of God today is 1 Chronicles 17:16-27.

Our prayer motivator quote today is from William Gurnall. He said: “When thou prayest before others, observe on what thou bestowest thy chief care and zeal, whether in the externals or internals of prayer, that which is exposed to the eye and ear of men, or that which should be prepared for the eye and ear of God; the devout posture of thy body, or the inward devotion of thy soul; the pomp of thy words or the power of thy faith; the agitation of thy bodily spirits in the vehemency of thy voice, or the fervency of thy spirit in heartbreaking affections. These inward workings of the soul in prayer, are the very soul of prayer.”

My personal encouragement for you today is this: Dedicated prayer with your family will be the most difficult thing you will do in your life, and the devil will fight against you on this like nothing else. But prayer is a fight you must win for the glory of God and for your family. Men, as I Corinthians 16:13 says, “Quit yourself like a man” and lead your family into victorious spiritual warfare!

Our prayer motivator devotional today is titled “PRAYING WITH PURPOSE” part 11 from the book, “Purpose in Prayer” by E.M. Bounds.

In the beginning of William Wilberforce’s religious career he records: “My chief reasons for a day of secret prayer are, (1) That the state of public affairs is very critical and calls for earnest deprecation of the Divine displeasure. (2) My station in life is a very difficult one, wherein I am at a loss to know how to act. Direction, therefore, should be specially sought from time to time. (3) I have been graciously supported in difficult situations of a public nature. I have gone out and returned home in safety, and found a kind reception has attended me. I would humbly hope, too, that what I am now doing is a proof that God has not withdrawn His Holy Spirit from me. I am covered with mercies.”

The recurrence of his birthday led him again to review his situation and employment. “I find,” he wrote, “that books alienate my heart from God as much as anything. I have been framing a plan of study for myself, but let me remember but one thing is needful, that if my heart cannot be kept in a spiritual state without so much prayer, meditation, Scripture reading, etc., as are incompatible with study, I must seek first the righteousness of God.” All were to be surrendered for spiritual advance. “I fear,” we find him saying, “that I have not studied the Scriptures enough. Surely in the summer recess I ought to read the Scriptures and hour or two every day, besides prayer, devotional reading and meditation. God will prosper me better if I wait on Him. The experience of all good men shows that without constant prayer and watchfulness the life of God in the soul stagnates. Doddridge’s morning and evening devotions were serious matters. Colonel Gardiner always spent hours in prayer in the morning before he went forth. Bonnell practised private devotions largely morning and evening, and repeated Psalms dressing and undressing to raise his mind to heavenly things. “I would look up to God to make the means effectual. I fear that my devotions are too much hurried, that I do not read Scripture enough. I must grow in grace; I must love God more; I must feel the power of Divine things more. Whether I am more or less learned signifies not. Whether even I execute the work which I deem useful is comparatively unimportant. But beware my soul of lukewarmness.”

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 14, 2015 in Prayer Motivator Devotionals

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
